Philippine Regions

11. Region X - Northern Mindanao. It has 5 provinces: Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte, Camiguin, Misamis Occidental and Oriental. Majority of the inhabitants from the region are migrants from Iloilo and Cebu. There are also waray-waray, tagalog and maranaos. Its natural resources are classified as forestland mostly. Its economy is plainly agricultural.
12. Region XI - Davao Region. 4 provinces: Compostela Valley, Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte and Sur. It was previously named as Southern Mindanao. The region has a mixture of immigrants with Cebuanos as the bulk of it, there's Illongos and Ilocanos. Ethnic groups: Muslims, Bagobos, T'boli, Manobos, Maiisakas, and Tirurays.
13. Region XII - SOCCSKSARGEN. It has North and South Cotabato, Saranggani, Sultan Kudarat and General Santos City. The region is called the catch basin of Mindanao because of its river system. The culture of Maguindanaon revolves around the kulintang music - a gong music.
14. Region XIII - Caraga. Composed of 5 provinces: Agusan del Norte and Sur, Surigao del Norte and Sur and Dinagat Islands. The region was called as "The Land of the Brave and Fierce people" by the chroniclers because its inhabitants weren't scared of anything at all that would befall them. Most people in the region speak Cebuano, other dialects are Hiligaynon, Boholanon, Kamayo, Manobo and Butuanon. The dominant religion is Roman Catholic.
15. Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM). Basilan, Sulu, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Tawi-tawi. Its culture revolves around kulintang music - a type of gong music. With Maguindanao as the 2nd poorest province in the country
16. Nation Capital Region (NCR) - Metro Manila. Inhabitants speak in Tagalog. It doesn't have its own province like the other regions. The City of Manila is the nation's capital. It has a lot of shopping centers, business establishments, it offers a lot of recreation activities, and has a variety of transportation. People from all over the country would come to Manila to look for work and life their own dreams.
17. Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR). Abra, Apayao, Ifugao, Maountain province, Benguet, Kalinga. This region is the home of the Igurot tribe. Mineral reserves are abundant in the region. It has attractions like the Banaue Rice Terraces which was deemed by the country as the 8th wonder, mummy caves of Mt. Province and Benguet, and Sumaguin Cave in Sagada, its national parks.

Back to Home

<< back